Three Belleites out of ten qualify for the final poetry reading at ‘Kavita Fest-2012’

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Bellevision Media Network

Mangalore, 30 November 2011: It is a matter of great pride that three youngsters from Moodubelle: Jovita D’Souza, Nikita Cybil Rebello and Malisha Fiona Rebello who participated in the Mangalore Round of the Poetry Reading Competition were selected among ten out of 27 to participate in the final competition to be held  at the ‘Kavita Fest-2012’ which will be  held at Moodubelle on January 8, 2012.


The Rohan and Lavita Monteiro  All India Poetry Reading’s Mangalore   Round of competition was held at St. Aloysius College on November 26, 2011 and selected ten candidates for the final competition to be held on the occasion of ‘Kavita Fest-2012’ at Moodubelle.



The competition began in St. Aloysius College Hall at 1.30 pm and continued till 3.30 pm. Twenty seven persons participated in the poetry reading competition. While some of them read their own compositions, others read poems written by famous poets such as Ch. Pra. De Costa, M.P. Rodrigues, Melvyn Rodrigues, Maurice D’Sa, George Pinto Aikla and others. 


Already, ten promising poets have been selected from the Goa Round of Poetry Reading making it 20 for the final competition. Those participating in the finals will not only receive  handsome prizes but also arrangements for their travelling, lodging and boarding will be made.


Prior to the start of the Poetry reading Competition, Melvyn Rodrigues, President of the Kavita Trust welcomed the gathering and acquainted the audience about the work that is being undertaken by the trust in promoting poetry and also explained the rules of the competition.



The judges for the competition were:Kishu Barkur, Proprietor of the Orchid art Gallery and Trustee William Pais and Poet, critic and Editor of H.M. Pernal. Trustee Vitori Karakala, Avrel Rodrigues and Marina Gonslaves assisted in conducting the competition. Severine, Director f the Konkani Sangha of St. Aloysius College was also present during the ooccasion.


The Winners of the competition are: 1. Clement Fernandes, 2. Jovita D’Souza, 3. Nelson Vas, 4. Nikita Cybil Rebello, 5. Kenneth R. Vas, 6. Jaison Jeevan Sequeira, 7. Derek Manoj Machado, 8. Jennifer Carol  Menezes, 9. Venkatesh Nayak, 10. Melisha Fiona Rebello.


Courtesy : Kavitaa.Com



Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Comments on this Article
Alban D souza, Kunthalnagr/moodubelle Wed, November-30-2011, 10:36
Congratulations and all the best...Keep the good work..
Ronald Sabi, Moodubelle Wed, November-30-2011, 9:19
Congratulations to the finalists and all the best!
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
GTI MarigoldGTI Marigold
Anil Studio
Badminton Sports AcademyBadminton Sports Academy

Now open at Al Qusais

Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
pearl printing

Konkani Literature World