Udupi: BJP Holds Protest against Central Government’s Non Cooperation

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
By Snehalatha, Udupi
Bellevsion Media Network

Udupi,19 October 2011: In a protest rally organised on Tuesday by the district unit of the BJP in front of Mahatma Gandhi statue in Udupi, MLA Mr K. Raghupathi Bhat lambasted the Central Government for showing step motherly attitude towards the state by not allotting the required electricity. He also said that this is an insult to 6 crore people of the state for which they will not forgive the UPA government. The state government’s demand is not additional or illegal; what we are demanding is what is due to us. The central government is shirking its responsibility and the Congress leaders of the state, in spite of knowing this, are blaming the BJP government for shortage in electricity in the state, he said.



The state minister for energy had met the central minister for energy and had discussions; but the central minister did not give a satisfactory reply. This is reprehensible. If the central government does not change its policy towards the state, the BJP will organise state-wide protest, he warned.


District BJP President Mr Udayakumar Shetty in his speech said that after the BJP government came to power in the state it has planned to produce 8000 MW of electricity, but it will take 5 years to complete the projects. He demanded that the central government meanwhile, without showing any step motherly attitude, should supply the required 1549 MW power to the state. He further said that the central UPA government has time and again tried to pull down the state government and has not succeeded; now it is trying to destabilise the government by not supplying power to the state in which they will not succeed. He threatened to intensify the agitation if the central government does not change its policies towards the state.

During the protest, Municipal Corporation president Mr Kirankumar, vice president Ms Bharathi Chandrashekar, BJP leaders Mattaru Rathnakara Hegde, Shamprasad Kudva, Naveen Bhandary, Thingale Vikramarjuna, Nayana Ganesh, Sandhya Nayak, Sumithra Nayak, Ravi Amin, Saleem Ambagilu, Devendra Prabhu, B.N. Shankara Poojary, Mohan Upadyaya etc were also present.



Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. BelleVision.com reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
GTI MarigoldGTI Marigold
Anil Studio
Badminton Sports AcademyBadminton Sports Academy

Now open at Al Qusais

Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
pearl printing

Konkani Literature World