Abu Dhabi: AMS Dubai won Koosamma Shambu Shetty Memorial (KSSM) Throwball Tournament

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
By Ronald DSouza
Bellevision Media Network

Abu Dhabi, 29 Jan: The much awaited yearly Late Smt. Koosamma Shambu Shetty Memorial (KSSM) open Throwball Tournament was held on January 24, 2020 at Abu Dhabi Indian School ground.


This was the 31st successive year of the Tournament series, the event is dedicated to the fond memories of late Koosamma Shambu Shetty, mother of Padmashree Dr. B. R. Shetty. The first ever match in the UAE was played in year 1989 and it is worth mentioning that it was the Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha which introduced the Throwball Tournament for women in the UAE under the leadership of Sarvotham Shetty, thereafter, the attraction of this game spread into other emirates.


Guest of Honour in the morning were Padmashree Dr. B. R. Shetty; Founder and Chairman of NMC Healthcare, Binay Shetty; Vice Chairman and CEO of BRS Ventures, Seema Shetty; Vice President (Corporate Excellence) for NMC Healthcare, Ronald Pinto; Managing Director of Hyssna International LLC – Abu Dhabi, Leo Rodrigues; Managing Director of Al Mazroui & Clevy Auto Services L.L.C and President of KCO, Neeraj Bhargava; Principal of Abu Dhabi Indian School (ADIS), Ravindra Tata; Vice Principal of ADIS, V. K. Mathu; Former Principal of ADIS, CA Valerian Dalmaida, Sebastian Pais, Ravi Rai and Pradeep Rai.


Guests in the evening for presentation ceremony were Padmashree Dr. B. R. Shetty, Seema Shetty, Sajan Shetty; Managing Director of TMT Group, Jairam Rai and Sebastian Pais.


Sarvotham Shetty; President of Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha welcomed the Guests giving their brief introduction. Padmashree Dr. B. R. Shetty appreciated and thanked all the teams for attending the prestigious Throwball Tournament and wished them good luck. The day began with playing the national anthem of the UAE and India.


On the occasion, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha & KSSM Throwball Tournament Felicitated senior lady members of each Team for their invaluable contribution and excellence to the sport of Throwball in the UAE. The recipient were Seema Vasu Shetty of Bunts Dubai, Marina Norma Menezes of Konkans Dubai, Nancy Quadros of ACME Mangalore Strikers, Violet Mary Andrade of Mangalore United, Jacintha Dsouza of Coastal Friends UAE, Cynthia D’Cunha of KCO Abu Dhabi, Pavithra Purandar of Mogaveers UAE and Chethana Yogish Prabhu of Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha.


As many as 14 teams participated in the Tournament (seven Teams for Men game and seven Teams for Ladies) and there was no fee for registration. The referees of the day were Deepthi Shetty, Dion Lobo, Shiv Shetty, Melcolm Lobo and Loyd who were fair in their decision making throughout the day.


Following teams from Men and Ladies participated in the Tournament:

Bunts Dubai
CFU Dubai
KCO Abu Dhabi
ADKS Abu Dhabi
AMS Dubai
Mogaveers Dubai
Konkans Dubai


The supporters and spectators enjoyed each and every match especially the semi-final and the finals were thrilling matches and were played with sportsman spirit by both Teams fighting back to back for gaining each single point leading towards the Teams victory.



The Final Results were as follows:

In Men Qualifier round 1, CFU Dubai defeated AMS Dubai scoring 21-20 while AMS Dubai defeated KCO Abu Dhabi scoring 21–19 in Qualifier round 2 to enter the finals. In the finals AMS Dubai defeated CFU Dubai scoring 15–13 & 15-14. KCO Abu Dhabi defeated Konkans Dubai 21-19 taking the 3rd position.


In Ladies Qualifier round 1, AMS Dubai defeated ADKS Abu Dhabi scoring 21 - 20 while ADKS Abu Dhabi defeated Konkans Dubai scoring 21-19 in Qualifier round 2 to enter the finals. In the finals AMS Dubai defeated ADKS Abu Dhabi scoring 9–15, 15–13 & 15-12. Konkans Dubai defeated Bunts Dubai 21–16 taking the 3rd position.


Dr B R Shetty gave away the prizes to the winners and runners. The prizes consisted beautiful Italian make Trophies with AED 1,500.00 each (Men and Ladies) for Winners, AED 1,000.00 each for 1st runner-up and AED 500.00 each for 2nd runner-up along with gift hamper from NMC.


Individual prizes were awarded to the outstanding performers namely:

Men: Best striker – Pramith Veigas (CFU Dubai), Best all-rounder – Shawn Rebeiro (AMS Dubai) and Best defender – Ashlyn Lobo (AMS Dubai)
Women: Best striker – Monal Rasquinha (ADKS Abu Dhabi), Best all-rounder – Solita Mendonca (AMS Dubai) and Best defender – Pramitha D’Souza (AMS Dubai)


Media representatives were honored on the occasion.


The organizing committee including Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha members did a fantastic job towards the success of the Tournament.



Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. BelleVision.com reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
Badminton Sports AcademyBadminton Sports Academy

Now open at Al Qusais

Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Nissi Infinity
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
Mandavi AcropolisMandavi Acropolis
Anil Studio