KCO Abu Dhabi, Bunts Dubai emerge champions in throwball tournament

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Pics by Ronald DSouza
Media Release

Abu Dhabi, 22 Jan: In an electrifying final set, KCO Abu Dhabi (Men) managed to beat AMS, Dubai team to lift the prestigious KCO Throwball Trophy 2020.


Both teams fought hard and the fans of both sides, supporting with their hearts beating as every point gained was celebrated with loud applauds. In the final three set match, the first set was won by AMS Dubai (15-14) and second KCO Abu Dhabi managed to snatch the set (15-13) however, in the final set they fought neck-to-neck gaining each point by each time from point 1-1, till the last 12-12. At this time AMS had the edge, but lost for an outside ball, however in the nail-biting finish KCO snatched the amazing and electrifying match from the AMS (15-13) watched by hundreds of enthusiastic spectators.




In the women’s final, AMS Dubai won the first set 15-12, and gave a good fight but lost to Bunts Dubai in the second set 15-10. However, in the final set Bunts Dubai clinched victory with the score of 15-9.


The tournament began at 9.30 am by KCO vice president Vivek Serrao addressing the teams and inviting them to assemble at the presentation area. Vivek Serrao also invited the dignitaries of the day CA Valerian Dalmaida, president, KCO, Sandya Vas, general secretary, KCO, Sunil Pinto, treasurer, KCO, Ronald Pinto, (MD, Hysna Interiors), Walter D’Almeida and fly (MD Regal Furnishings and Storage Systems LLC), Leo Rodrigues and fly (Clevy & Al Mazroui Automobiles LLC), Sarvotham Shetty (President, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha), Dolphy Vaz (Advisor & Former President, KCO), Sebastian Pais, sports secretary, KCO, Franklin D’Cunha, team Manager KCO. All the dignitaries on the stage were felicitated with floral bouquets by KCO general secretary Sandhya Vas.


CA Valerian Dalmaida, in his presidential address appreciated and thanked all the teams for attending the prestigious KCO Throwball Tournament and welcomed them and wished them good luck. All the referees of the day like Deepthi Shetty, Dion Lobo, Shiv Shetty, Malcom Lobo, Dancy Menezes and Cynthia D’Cunha were introduced to the teams by Vivek Serrao.


Oath taking ceremony was led by the KCO team captains Vinay Vas and Doreen Alvares, along with KCO sports secretary Sabastian Pais.


The prestigious KCO throwball 2020 tournament was inaugurated by releasing balloons into the air by all the dignitaries present during the inauguration ceremony. The tournament was declared open by Ronald Pinto.


Following teams participated in the tournament:

1. Bunts, Dubai

2. CFU, Dubai

3. KCO, Dubai

4. ADKS, Abu Dhabi

5. AMS, Dubai

6. Mogaveers, Dubai

7. Konkan’s Dubai


The final results were as follows:

Qualifiers men:

1. KCO, Abu Dhabi

2. AMS, Dubai

3. CFU, Dubai

4. Bunts, Dubai


In men qualifier 1, KCO defeated AMS 21-12 and entered to the finals, CFU defeated Bunts Dubai 21-20. In qualifier 2, AMS defeated CFU 21-20 and entered into the finals.


Qualifiers ladies:

1. Bunts, Dubai

2. AMS, Dubai

3. CFU, Dubai

4. Konkan’s Dubai


In Ladies qualifier 1, Bunts defeated AMS 21-18 and entered to the finals, Konkans defeated CFU, Dubai 21-20. In qualifier 2, AMS defeated Konkans 21-15 and entered into the finals.


Men’s Throwball:

Winner: KCO, Abu Dhabi

Runner up: AMS, Dubai

Second Runner-up: CFU, Dubai


Ladies’ Throwball:

Winner: Bunts Dubai

Runner up: AMS, Dubai

Second Runner up: Konkan’s Dubai


During the prize distribution ceremony, Sandhya Vas rendered the vote of thanks to all the dignitaries, sponsors, referees, organizing committee, media personnel and all the teams who participated in the tournament.


The winning teams in both men and ladies tournament were awarded trophies by the dignitaries present on the stage in a glittering prize distribution ceremony.


The following outstanding players of the tournament were presented with mementos:

Throwball men:

Roydon Pereira (KCO) - Best Striker

Rahul PK (KCO) - Best All Rounder

Shawn Rebeiro (AMS) - Best Defender


Throwball women:

Sashi Ravi Shetty (Bunts Dubai) - Best All-rounder

Deepthi Shetty (Bunts, Dubai) - Best Defender

Flavia Mathias (AMS, Dubai) - Best Striker


The entire tournament was enjoyed by every sportsperson and spectator who attended the wonderful KCO Throwball Tournament 2020. The organizers did a wonderful job and all the matches and the entire day was fun-filled and were played with sportsman spirit. The entire tournament matches were coordinated by KCO members Valerian Fernandes and Amitha Costa under the guidance of the sports secretary Sebastian Pais.





Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. BelleVision.com reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Nissi Infinity
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
Mandavi AcropolisMandavi Acropolis
pearl printing
Anil Studio

Konkani Literature World

Grace Ministries