IPL-4 (28th May) Chennai are the Super Kings of IPL-4

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
By Team Bellevision
Bellevision Media Network

Chennai, 28 May 2011: MS Dhoni’s love affair with silverware continued as he led the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to successful defence of their IPL title with a comprehensive 58-run victory over the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Saturday. A mammoth total of 205 was complemented by a three-wicket spell (3/16) from R Ashwin that paved way for Chennai’s title defence, which began with a 159-run opening partnership between ’Man of the Match’ Murali Vijay (95) and Michael Hussey (63).


Chennai bowlers then restricted Bangalore to a paltry 147/8 and romped home by the big margin. It was an icing on the cake for CSK skipper Dhoni after the historic World Cup triumph last month. Chasing 206 to win, Ashwin delivered a body blow to RCB’s title aspirations when he got the big fish Chris Gayle for a naught in the first over. MS Dhoni’s move to open the attack with the off-spinner struck more gold as he followed Gayle’s wicket with Mayank Aggarwal’s in his second over to put the CSK right on top.


Ashwin first induced an edge from Gayle, which was pouched by MS Dhoni, and then bowled Aggarwal (10). Virat Kohli then instilled some hopes with a few lusty blows but AB de Villiers misread Shadab Jakati to be caught right in front. He became the third Bangalore wicket to fall inside seven overs as the scoreboard read 48/3. Jakati then added another wicket to his tally when he lapped up a top edge from Luke Pomersbach to leave the RCB innings in complete disarray.


Another body blow was delivered by part-timer Suresh Raina when he put the final nail in RCB’s coffin by taking out Kohli, who scored 35 off 32 balls before getting out lbw. Regular fall of wickets sent half the RCB side back in the dug-out after 10 overs, making it the most lopsided of the four IPL finals so far. Shadab Jakati (2/21) bowled well in tandem with Ashwin to pick up his two wickets. Earlier, Vijay and Hussey hit sparkling half centuries en route to a 159-run opening stand that laid the foundation for CSK’s mammoth total of 205/5.



Hussey and Vijay gave Chennai a quick start and mixed caution with aggression after Dhoni decided to bat first. The duo didn’t go on an all out attack and kept the scoreboard ticking with cheeky singles, while hitting a six each in the first four overs. Another six from Vijay off Gayle brought up CSK’s fifty in just 5.1 overs to stamp their early domination in the game as they picked 56 runs in the six overs of powerplay.


After the rollicking start, the openers didn’t hold themselves back and intensified the assault, which saw the CSK hundred being raised in just 10.3 overs after Vijay’s punishing 29-ball half century. Vijay upped the ante from that point on, hitting fours and sixes almost at will. On the other end, experienced Hussey fed the strike to Vijay, picking an occasional boundary as he reached his fifty in 40 balls.


Wicket finally came for Bangalore when Hussey tried to loft Syed Mohammad over long-on for another six but ended up in the hands of Abhimanyu Mithun. That brought an end to a 159-run opening partnership in just 14.5 overs. Dhoni (22 off 13) then lit up Chepauk with his two sixes but he and Vijay fell to S Aravind in consecutive deliveries.


Vijay (95), who deserved a century, fell just five runs short while Dhoni departed in quest of quick runs. Vijay stroked four boundaries and six towering sixes in his 52-ball knock. RCB bowlers made some sort of a comeback towards the end by picking up two more wickets in the last two overs. It was Dwayne Bravo who hit six off the final delivery to help CSK cross 205. For RCB, Aravind and Gayle picked two wickets apiece while Syed picked one.


Match Summary

Indian Premier League 2011
Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, Final
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, May 28, 2011
Match Information
Toss: Chennai Super Kings (Elected to bat)
Match Status: Chennai Super Kings won by 58 runs
Batting: Royal Challengers Bangalore Innings
Batsmen Royal Challengers Bangalore (147/8 in 20 ovs) Runs Balls 4’s 6’s SR
Mayank Agarwal b R Ashwin 10 5 2 0 200.00
Chris Gayle c M Dhoni b R Ashwin 0 3 0 0 0.00
Virat Kohli lbw b S Raina 35 32 1 1 109.38
AB de Villiers (wk) lbw b S Jakati 18 12 3 0 150.00
Luke Pomersbach c & b S Jakati 2 3 0 0 66.67
Saurabh Tiwary not out 42 34 1 3 123.53
Daniel Vettori (c) c & b R Ashwin 0 1 0 0 0.00
Abhimanyu Mithun c D Bollinger b DJ Bravo 11 8 2 0 137.50
Zaheer Khan c M Hussey b D Bollinger 21 21 2 0 100.00
Syed Mohammad Jamaluddin not out 2 2 0 0 100.00
Sreenath Aravind            
Extras: b - 2, w - 1, nb - 1, lb - 2 6  
Total:(147 for 8 in 20 overs) 147 Run Rate: 7.35
Fall Of Wickets
1/1 (Chris Gayle, 0.4 ov.), 2/16 (Mayank Agarwal, 2.3 ov.), 3/48 (AB de Villiers, 6.3 ov.), 4/62 (Luke Pomersbach, 8.3 ov.), 5/69 (Virat Kohli, 9.6 ov.), 6/70 (Daniel Vettori, 10.2 ov.), 7/92 (Abhimanyu Mithun, 12.6 ov.), 8/130 (Zaheer Khan, 18.4 ov.)
Bowling: Chennai Super Kings
Bowler O M R W Nb Wd ER
Ravichandran Ashwin 4 0 16 3 0 0 4.0
Albie Morkel 3 0 24 0 0 0 8.0
Doug Bollinger 3 0 28 1 0 1 9.3
Shadab Jakati 4 0 21 2 1 0 5.2
Suresh Raina 4 0 39 1 0 0 9.8
Dwayne Bravo 2 0 15 1 0 0 7.5
Batting: Chennai Super Kings Innings
Batsmen Chennai Super Kings (205/5 in 20 ovs) Runs Balls 4’s 6’s SR
Michael Hussey c A Mithun b Syed Mohammad 63 45 3 3 140.00
Murali Vijay c D Vettori b S Aravind 95 52 4 6 182.69
MS Dhoni (c) (wk) c V Kohli b S Aravind 22 13 0 2 169.23
Suresh Raina b C Gayle 8 5 0 1 160.00
Albie Morkel c V Kohli b C Gayle 2 4 0 0 50.00
Subramaniam Badrinath not out 0 0 0 0 0.00
Dwayne Bravo not out 6 1 0 1 600.00
Wriddhiman Saha            
Ravichandran Ashwin            
Shadab Jakati            
Doug Bollinger            
Extras: b - 0, w - 2, nb - 0, lb - 7 9  
Total:(205 for 5 in 20 overs) 205 Run Rate: 10.25
Fall Of Wickets
1/159 (Michael Hussey, 14.5 ov.), 2/188 (Murali Vijay, 18.1 ov.), 3/188 (MS Dhoni, 18.2 ov.), 4/199 (Albie Morkel, 19.4 ov.), 5/199 (Suresh Raina, 19.5 ov.)
Bowling: Royal Challengers Bangalore
Bowler O M R W Nb Wd ER
Zaheer Khan 4 0 30 0 0 0 7.5
Sreenath Aravind 3 0 39 2 0 2 13.0
Chris Gayle 4 0 34 2 0 0 8.5
Syed Mohammad Jamaluddin 3 0 39 1 0 0 13.0
Daniel Vettori 4 0 34 0 0 0 8.5
Abhimanyu Mithun 2 0 22 0 0 0 11.0



Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. BelleVision.com reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
GTI MarigoldGTI Marigold
Anil Studio
Rozaricho Gaanch
UZVAAD Konkani FortnightlyUZVAAD Konkani Fortnightly
Badminton Sports AcademyBadminton Sports Academy

Now open at Al Qusais

Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
pearl printing

Konkani Literature World