GP poll counting peaceful in Dakshina Kannada

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print

  • Started at 8 am and went on till night

Mangalore, 18 May 2010: The counting for Gram Panchayat polls was peaceful in Dakshina Kannada. The counting was held in respective taluk headquarters which began at 8 am in the morning went on till night.

Speaking to Deccan Herald, Additional Deputy Commissioner Prabhakarsharma said “the counting went on smoothly in the district.”  Officials said the results of all most all the gram panchayats have been announced by pm. 

Mood in centre

As the counting process of 49 Gram Panchayats of Mangalore taluk began at the Rosario Composite PU College here on Monday, people from various villages seen thronging enthusiastically.

While, a festive mood prevailed in the counting station premises as people were eagerly waiting to see their candidates come out victorious.

In Mangalore taluk, a total of 2,306 candidates were in fray for 938 seats of 49 GPs. While 27 candidates were elected unopposed, the result of one seat was withheld owing to a complaint. Election was held for the remaining 910 seats in the taluk on May 12.

Unlike earlier elections, citizens were more eager this year to know the results of their respective GPs. Several leaders and workers of major political parties were gathered near the counting station calculating the victory of their candidates. Though bands, processions and celebrations were banned during counting, party workers were seen in jubilant mood to receive their winning candidates.  Garland sellers had a bonanza sale as party workers bought hundreds of garlands to receive the victorious candidates.

Meanwhile, it was tough time for the police to control the traffic on the road near the counting station.

Police also were checking all candidates and their agents before entering the counting station. No untoward incidents were reported in Mangalore taluk counting centre.

One vote margin

Ramesh Poojari, who contested in the 2nd ward of Amblamogaru GP with BJP support, has won with only one vote margin. While Poojari has bagged 214 votes, his rival candidate Karunakara Poojari, who has the support of Congress, secured 213 votes.
Similarly, Rajarama Hegde, who contested from the first ward of Iruvail GP with BJP
support, has won with a margin of one vote. While Hegde has got 302 votes, his opponent Kumar, who has Congress support, has bagged 301 votes.

Someshwar Gram Panchayat, second largest GP in the State had 51 seats. The Gram Panchayat had boycotted the election twice demanding the upgradation. However, this time, they decided to constet the election, after District-in-Charge Minister Krishna Palemar assured them of additional grants. In Somwashwara GP 13rd ward, siblings namely Abdul  Salam and Afsa G I have won.


Speaking to Deccan Herald, district Congress Vice-President Ivan D’Souza said the results across Dakshina Kannada are in favour of Congress. “Our performance in Ullal is excellent. Even in the entire district, Congress has done better than the previous elections,” he said.

District BJP President Padmanabha Kottari said a clear picture about the results will be obtained only by Tuesday morning, since counting is still going on in some places though it already crossed 9 pm.

“In some places, we could cover more Gram Panchayats but the seats could be less. But in some places, we could cover less Gram Panchayats, but we could win more seats.
Hence, the results cannot be judged instantly. But we can say that we have done better than the last time,” Kottari said.Mangalore taluk has 49 gram panchayats with 938 seats.
Counting was held at the Taluk headquarters in Dakshina Kannada from 8 am onwards.
The counting centres were—St Rosario Composite PU College, Mangalore; Infant Jesus English Medium School, Mondankaup in Bantwal; SDM College in Belthangady; St Philomena PU College, Puttur and K V G Engineering College, Sullia.

For the counting purpose, 151 tables were been arranged in Mangalore, 150 in Bantwal, 97 in Belthangady, 137 in Puttur and 51 in Sullia.

Gregory Patrao wins GP polls

The voters were in favour of Gregory Patrao, the only farmer who gave a stiff resistance to MRPL for 16 years and whose land was acquired by KIADB on May 28. Inspite of not campaigning, the voters have supported Gregory who won the election from Bala Gram Panchayat. The Panchayat had 13 seats.


Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
GTI MarigoldGTI Marigold
Anil Studio
Badminton Sports AcademyBadminton Sports Academy

Now open at Al Qusais

Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
pearl printing

Konkani Literature World