Udupi: N.S.S. Awards to Mangalore University and Dr. Ekkar

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
By Snehalatha, Udupi
Bellevision Media Network

Udupi, 15 October 2011: National Seva Yojane awards for the state level during the year 2010 – 11 have been declared and Mangalore University has been chosen as the best University. Dr. Gananatha Eakkar who is the Coordinating Officer of Mangalore University has been chosen as the best Coordinating Officer. These awards will be issued on 17th October in a function at Rajbhavan Bangalore by the Governor of Karnataka in the presence of Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda. The award will include Rs. 20,000 cash, trophy and certificate.


The 25 Universities and 3 Directorates of the state are in the Rastriya Seva Yojane and among them Manglore University has emerged as the best University. The systematic implementation of the NSS activities at College level and also environment preservation, blood donation, aids awareness, legal awareness and health programs effectively and participation of the volunteers in the state and national level has been considered by the Advisory Committee of Youth Service and Sport Department and chosen Mangalore University for this award.

Dr. Gananatha Ekkar is the Head of Post-Graduation Department of 1st Grade Government College of Thenkanoor Udupi. He has been serving as the Coordinator of the Mangalore University since the last 3 years. During the last 22 years he has served at various level in the NSS project. He has been awarded as the Best Yojane Officer during the year 1997 – 98. He also served as the NSS District Officer. In the field of literature, research in folklore and the Associations he has actively involved and made a name for himself. He is serving as the President of Udupi Taluk Kannada Sahithya Parishath.

Other awards for the year 2010 – 11 for the Best Unit and Best Volunteer also has been announced and along with many other colleges Mangalore’s Roshani Nilaya School of Social Works has been chosen as the Best Unit. The Yojane Officer of this college Vineeta Rai has been chosen as the Best Yojane Officer. Kumari Deeksha of Roshani Nilaya College and Kumari Apsana Cathoon of St. Aloysius College have been chosen as the Best Volunteers.



Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. BelleVision.com reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Nissi Infinity
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
Mandavi AcropolisMandavi Acropolis
pearl printing
Anil Studio

Konkani Literature World

Grace Ministries