Article 370 abrogated in a democratic, open manner to end isolation of J&K: PM Modi

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print

New Delhi, 24 Aug: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has justified the move taken by his government to abrogate Article 370, which granted special status to Jammu and Kashmir. In an interview with Khaleej Times, Prime Minister Modi said that the government took the decision in a “completely democratic, open, transparent and Constitutional manner”, Zee reported.


Terming the move by the central government as “internal steps”, Prime Minister Modi said that the development was “designed to end the isolation” of Jammu and Kashmir. The Prime Minister further said that it was the special status of the region that kept Jammu and Kashmir underdeveloped.


Responding to the question on abrogation of Article 370, the Prime Minister said that it served “the vested interests of a few”. He said that it was because of the “isolation” of the region that youth were misguided and even radicalised by anti-India elements.


“This isolation also allowed some of the youth to be misguided, get radicalised and take to violence and terrorism,” said Prime Minister Modi.


Modi said that India could not afford to let the isolation gain further “foothold in our harmonious society and distract us from the primary tasks of growth and development of the entire country”.


The Prime Minister arrived in Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) late on Friday on a two-day visit. During the visit, the Prime Minister is slated to receive the highest civil decoration of the UAE, Order of Zayed, which was conferred on him earlier in April 2019.


The move by Prime Minister Modi-led central government to abrogate Article 370 amid unprecedented security cover in Jammu and Kashmir has triggered attacks by opposition members. Following days of allegations and counter-allegations, opposition leaders, including former Congress president Rahul Gandhi, are visiting Srinagar on Saturday.


Opposition leaders including Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sitaram Yechuri, D Raja, Manoj Jha, Anand Sharma, D Kupendra Reddy, Majeed Memon, KC Venugopal, Tiruchi Siva, Sharad Yadav, and Dinesh Trivedi will be part of the delegation.



Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
St Lawrence High SchoolVajra Varna

Diamond Jubilee Souvenir

Elwin ArcadeElwin Arcade

Main Rd, Moodubelle

Sunshine PrideSunshine Pride
Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Nissi Infinity
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Syndicate Bank
Ryan International
Mandavi AcropolisMandavi Acropolis
pearl printing
Anil Studio
Bellevision Cute Kid Contest
Udupi Today

Konkani Literature World

Grace Ministries