Mangaluru: Nihal Tauro bags 17th ‘Kalakar Puraskar’

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Bellevision Media Network

Mangaluru, 15 Oct 2021: The Kalakar Puraskar of the Carvalho Ghoranne (family) and Mandd Sobhann, will be conferred on the famous singer and Sony TV Indian Idol reality show finalist, Nihal Hanson Tauro, Alangar.


The Award will be presented by Cine lyricist and Kannada litterateur Jayant Kaikini at the Awarding Ceremony, to be held at Kalangann, here on Sunday, November 7, at 6.00pm.


He will be honoured with a cash prize of Rs 25,000, a memento, shawl, floral bouquet, fruits and a felicitation certificate.



Nihal Tauro, being an immensely talented vocalist, has lent his voice to many songs in different languages and genres. He has sung in 25 Konkani music albums, 12 films, 15 musical nites, 200 stage performances and 6 TV reality shows. His voice is also heard in musical compositions of 6 serials. Along with this, the world has witnessed his talent on YouTube which is evident through his views.


As a jewel in the crown of his achievements, he was selected as one of the Top Five contestants, and only one from Karnataka, in the 12th Season of Indian Idol, a reality show nationally televised on Sony TV. This Award is being presented to him, in recognition of his eminent contributions to the field of singing, at a young age of 21.


Following this ceremony, as a part of the 239th Monthly Theatre, ‘Mandd’ the theatre group of Mandd Sobhann will be performing Shakespeare’s play, ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ written in Konkani by Arunraj Rodrigues and directed by Viddu Uchil.


The entire programme will unfold in the amphitheatre at Kalaangann. Admission free. All are invited.


Kalakar Puraskar

This award was initiated by Fr Dr Pratap Naik, Goa in 2005 in the name of the ‘Carvalho Family’ and Mandd Sobhann to recognize those showing significant contributions in Konkani art forms like drama, folklore, music/singing and dance.


So far, this award has been conferred to Arun Raj Rodrigues (Drama), Joel Pereira (Music), Harry D’Souza (Brass Band), Fr Charles Vas (Devotional music), Anuradha Dhareshwar (Music), Santha Bhadragiri Achyutadas, Bengaluru (Harikatha), James Lopez, Honnavar (Brass band), Norbert Gonsalves (Instrumentalist), Francis Fernandes Cascia (Drama), Roshan D’Souza (Music), Christopher D’Souza (Drama), Avil D’Cruz (Dance), M Gopala Gowda (Folklore), Adolphus Cutinha-Dolla (Drama), Irene Rebello (Voviyo-Vers) and Anita D’Souza (Singing).



Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
Badminton Sports AcademyBadminton Sports Academy

Now open at Al Qusais

New State Bank of India, Customer Service Point
Cool House ConstructionCool House Construction
Veez Konkani IllustratedVEEZ Konkani

Weekly e-Magazine

Uzvaad FortnightlyUzvaad Fortnightly

Call : 91 9482810148

Your ad Here
Power Care
Nissi Infinity
Ryan Intl Mangaluru
Ryan International
Mandavi AcropolisMandavi Acropolis
pearl printing
Anil Studio

Konkani Literature World

Grace Ministries