Welcome Bellevision.com
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. BelleVision.com reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.
Stany D Souza, Kuwait
03/05/2012 01:23:44

Thank you John for this informative article on Musium. Looking forward for many such articles from you

Dolphy Dmello, shankerpura.dubai
03/05/2012 01:18:22

Thanks.bellevision done a wonderful job.God bless.

Brandt Hardin, Clarksville
02/05/2012 19:04:34

One year after Bin Laden’s death and over 10 years since 9/11, American citizens are still blindly allowing their civil liberties to be taken away one piece of legislation at a time. How much freedom are we willing to sacrifice to feel safe? Under the guise of fighting terrorism, the Patriot Act was adopted WITHOUT public approval or vote just weeks after the twin towers fell. These laws are simply a means to spy on our own citizens and to detain and torture dissidents without trial or a right to council. You can read much more about living in this Orwellian society of fear and see my visual response to these measures on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2011/09/living-in-society-of-fear-ten-years.html

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
02/05/2012 12:09:48

The Iraqi invasion of Kuwait was a stressful event for us, living in Qatar, several hundred miles away. Through the occupation and the war that came in January 1991, I watched TV only to update myself on events related to this occupation. Even after liberation and the controlling of oil wells fires, by teams led by Red Adair and other experts, I kept my focus on Kuwait, Some Arabs alleged privately that the resistance was led by non-state residents, and were sore about post-liberation events.

Since then, I have read several narrations, both in print and online. There is also a ex-Kuwaiti resident and lecturer named Parimita Barooah Bora, who has extensively written. I provide the link to her Kuwait Diary for further reading: http://mytravelsmyexperiences.blogspot.com/2010/09/al-qurain-museumq8.html

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
02/05/2012 11:34:42

I found on e-bay Karlow-Karsohf manufactured BA720E and AZ460E bio-mass processors available at throw-away prices. The sanitation engineers hired by ZP/BD/TP/GP should have basic know-how on buying, installing, commissioning and running such a unit. Of course, our Punjabis are known to clone anything in the world, and sell cheap, so this should not be a big deal. However, This GP has done it, based on a unit developed locally. Very nice.

Melwyn D Souza, Mangalore
02/05/2012 06:06:11

Bringing back the memories of early 90s the invasion of Kuwait.

Melvin, Kemmannu/Kuwait
02/05/2012 02:26:52

"Congradulations"Mr.DeviPrasad Shetty and all the people of the Grama, Wish you all the best

Evans Christopher Sumitra, Mumbai/Udupi/New York,USA
01/05/2012 19:30:25

This will help tourism and boost to the economy. Even the price of Rs.250/ for a single person, for the three hour cruise excluding the cost of food in very reasonable. Good Luck.

Baptist Sequeira, Moodubelle
01/05/2012 14:24:17

In some points I do not agree with Mr. Philip. First of all my intention is to discuss this matter through BV is about Indian situation. We do not have to think of other countries where population is less, markets are good, cultivation technologies advance etc. But I made my mind to write this by watching the news and price increase. When I was in Gudganv (NCR), I myself had paid Rs 32 for a kg of bottle gourd, which in my place was sold at Rs 5 per kg. I had thought why a vegetable of less price is being so costly in NCR? Because there is a huge population but supply is less in NCR. Why in Bangalore mutton costs Rs 400 per kg? We know Australian mutton is cheaper but in India mutton is costly. Why milk is Rs 30 per litre? With all our savings if the price of common vegetables is so much, petrol is so much, meat is so much, will it be a better environment for less income people to stay in India. And that is why I wanted to discuss, instead of leaving lands barren, better to utilize once in a year at least.

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
01/05/2012 12:01:48

People like my sister are proud of their self-image. they are confident people who want to live with self-respect. So, they work hard; and depend on remittances only to supplement their income. Those types are a majority in my opinion, unless BV produces survey data to prove that they are a minority.
The land use should not before post-retirement activity. (BV has a feature q-ed since two weeks where I deal with post-retirement issues; we will discuss more after that is published).
The land use is NOW or NEVER issue. Despite these ideas, at macro level, I support immigration of rural population to cities, towns, semi-urban tier-4 population centers, freeing up vast lands for agro-businesses, by large scale mechanized farming. Where 70% of our land can be farmed by 5% of our population and still produce twice as much as we now produce of everything, grains, and other food items. It is possible. Developing countries have done it. If you travel in US and Canada, you will find miles and miles of empty and fallow land, but where farming is done, they produce so much wheat and corn, the whole world can eat! To keep prices from falling, they destroy some!!

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
01/05/2012 11:46:50

In most cases, the ownership is settled by partitions between heirs and lands remain in the names of dead. Those who are settled on the land do not use it, out of fear of losing out the assets they created and therefore do not create any. These lands cannot be rented or sold. Those who are settled elsewhere, comfortably or otherwise do not give up their legitimate right to inherited property and contribute to this problem. Disputes between siblings and their progeny are very complex to resolve, with lot of emotional issues tangled there-in, and often mediation does not work. People go to courts and spend money and years searching for resolution, which may not come in lifetime of one generation. In my personal opinion, the Indian Inheritance Act may have to be amended to give the rights to farmland to the son(s) within six months of the death of the title-holder, on the basis that the rights of others is settled in cash or kind. The motivation to work the farm will be increased, especially, because otherwise those on the farmland will starve. Even the sons who remit money should set rules, and only supplement the household income. The other savings should be invested (contd).

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
01/05/2012 11:35:10

My sister aged 61 and her husband aged 65 live on small parcel of farm-land with two of their school-going grand-children. Despite poor health and eye-sight, they have not given up working the land to earn a living. They do not hire labor, do every chore themselves, including plucking areca-nuts, coconuts, pepper, cardamom, plantains etc. They guard the crops from monkey menace day and night. Crazy and foolish people! Why do they do it?

There are, among us, parasites wanting to live as total dependents, relying on remittances and hand-outs. Most come to expect them as rights, sort of pay-back from children, siblings and relatives. The feel is of easy money, like winning a lottery, for these types of people. My friend Baptist is dismayed because, at micro level, the kind that I mentioned are there, but he did not notice them; his sights were set on the fallow lands of the lazy, incompetent, incapable, imbecile types. I have no respect for these kind. Their benefactors are responsible because they supply the cash without setting terms. Money speaks. Set rules. If the farmland is left fallow, rent it out, sell it, s someone else will make use of it...(CoOntd)

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
01/05/2012 11:18:32

1. The lady chose adherence to her socio-religious values and gave up the job out of her own free will, she has no basis to grumble.
2. If she made her decision under duress, she had a constitutional right to challenge SAC in a court of law. IT would have been a landmark case, where some fundamental issues could have been addressed and a precedent could be set.
3. It is likely that legal opinion was sought and a strong case did not exist. So, the situation is given a political angle now.
4. SAC is a private minority controlled institution with constitutional protection to frame its own rules that it can enforce as long as these rules do not violate basic principles of our constitution. It has right to impose dress code on everyone on its premises. It has also right to wave this rule to whosoever it deems fit at its own sole discretion. Like it can ask everyone to keep their pets home while coming there..:D
5. Since UGC aids the institution to pay salaries to its teaching staff, was UGC code(s) of conduct violated by management? The Registrar and Principal know the rules, consequences etc.

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
01/05/2012 11:01:19

A commendable village level activity. I am sad that I missed due to the distance between me and the event. May this socio-cultural forum live long. And thanks Prakash, for an invite.

Baptist Sequeira, Moodubelle
01/05/2012 07:35:51

Congratulations dear Vallu. Nice to see you and Clifford in the pictures. By your dedicated love to cricket and commitment you have kept the club going still. I know even in hot summer mornings you go for cricket without fail. Great work guys.

Veronica Alick, Belle/New Delhi
01/05/2012 04:32:44

Congratulations!! We will definitely make use of this opportunity whenever we will be in the town. All the best

Alban D souza, Kunthalnagar/moodubelle
01/05/2012 02:56:23

Well written artical by baptist....
Keep writing good artical...

vivian, dubai
01/05/2012 01:01:52

Our land in the hands of selfish people thats why..Good article well narrated..Keep on writting..

Anil, Dubai
01/05/2012 00:53:52

A good effort by Baptist Sequira to put forward the situation of agricultural land in our native place. Even though the analysis looks like a fact, I would not agree fully with what he has expressed. What is India today is because of the economic policies of the Government which was need of the hour. If we only have food grains to eat and nothing else, we would not develop. I feel the Government has made enough efforts to balance both. It is the people who chose greener pastures of high paying jobs over our green land and agriculture. I feel food items at farmers place are much much cheaper than what we get them for at a marketplace. The cost of transportation, the middleman eats the maximum amount of this money and the farmer gets nothing. I would bet, no one from the people who agreed with Baptists views have even 1% will to go back to their village and do agriculture even after retirement.

Baptist Sequeira, Moodubelle
01/05/2012 00:35:17

In general view what Mr. Philip says is right. But my intention of writing is to keep increase agri growth in micro level. Example growing chicken at every house, vegetable in every house makes village level food increase. If you presently visited to our place you can see, the availability of "Kaje" rice reduced. Sweet Potato Rs 20 in Belle, when we were growing only Rs 2 per kg. Thendli and valchibaji was grown in every household, now not seen. Jackfruit trees disappeared. Cucumber was a main preservable vegetable, which nobody grow these days. "Suvarna Gedde" not seen in the compounds. Fertilizer from cows Rs 4000 per tempo, still not available for farmers. To see the need of vegetable and its scarcity when people go to buy we can see during our August 10 festival and Sept 8 festival. All these kind of small level farm needs to be fulfilled by small farmers like us only by keeping our farming tradition live. What is your idea on this?

Clement Lobo, Mumbai
30/04/2012 19:31:15

Thank you everybody for your kind words and support. I really feel honored and humbled. God Bless and long live Moodubelle!

Baptist Sequeira, Moodubelle
30/04/2012 16:19:44

Ok in one side people may appreciate but some will oppose what Fr. Swebert is doing. Being a high esteemed institution and providing education for so many years, without creating any issues to Muslim girls, why this new subject came in news is interesting. I was alumni of SAC. But after say 10years I took my friend for admission for Entrance Exam coaching classes in SAC. We paid fees in PU section but for an envelop to class start letter, we had to walk all the way from PU section to Post Office in court area. Then I asked the lady in the admission section why the intelligent priests can not include Rs 10 instead of Rs 5 in the total fees and keep some envelops at the office itself instead of making the students to walk all the way to post office and bring back an envelop. Instead of improving the common sense, do not create these BURKA kind of nuisances which are not appreciable by common people. Dear honorable priests please take our kind advices and try to improve your public life positively.

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
30/04/2012 12:54:49

What percentage is 13p over existing tariff?

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
30/04/2012 12:49:57

Even at work, sleep deprivation mars a presentation or a meeting speech. Sleep longer, avoid alcohol and smoking, coffee etc that causes dehydration and raises cortisone levels..

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
30/04/2012 12:32:15

.. analytic counter-view point-by-point at macro and micro level. It also requires examining Gandhi model and Mao model and consider if these models are what India needs.

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
30/04/2012 12:28:51

The young author, whom I count among my friends contacts, has espoused a return to old agricultural traditions from what appears to him a unwelcome disuse of farmland in our villages. He has done a good job of expressing his feelings and views. But, I disagree with both the analysis and solutions. Taking a macro view of our economy, our food grain production has grown 5-fold while population grew only 3.2-fold in 60 years. Our livestock, milk, oil-seeds, fruits, seeds and nuts and such nutrition providing food production has also grown faster than the population. This has been possible by adopting green revolution, white revolution and hybrid seeding including GM-modified ones , irrigation innovations, and mechanization of agriculture. The policies have gone in the right direction, but the pace has to be faster. Less and less people will have to produce more and more food and products. In fact, India has more food today than its people can eat, but poverty and starvation exists because we do not have efficient infrastructure to move food where is it is needed. Market mechanisms are strangled by mistaken belief that middlemen are bad. The solution suggested here require a..

C.Palani, Chennai
30/04/2012 12:04:31

Entrepreneur Mr. Vijay Mallya visited Kukke Subrahamanya, Venkataramana Temple in Bantwal . Defiantly the company problems will be solved by the prayer of all god.
We will also prayer to all the members of king fisher to get the growth with in sort time
Also the government to help them to some extant

Stany Martis, Moodubelle / Kuwait
30/04/2012 11:19:49

Nice article and very intresting too!! Mr. Baptist Many thanx for the indeed. Keep writing. God Bless.

Christopher D Cunha, M lore/AUH
30/04/2012 10:41:56

Thought provoking article by Baptist Sequeira. Hope he is setting an example for some of the readers to follow....

wilfrred castelino, mooudebelle/sharjah
30/04/2012 10:37:50

Nice article Babuti, i remember my days in the class, in the same bench. Realy a very good subject to realize how important is cultivation and soaring food price.

Francis J. Saldanha, Moodubelle / Bahrain
30/04/2012 10:22:46

Good one! Dear Baptist. Everyone is thinking that it's ok to move to cities, overseas western countries to work or settle but real truth is every parent wants their children to be well educated settle in quite comfortably. Now any parent for that matter has thought about asking one of their sons to stay at home without acquiring higher education and continue to do the agricultural job and look after them?. The answer is no! Reason is well known to all, hence everyone particularly those who owns agricultural land will definitely rely on outsiders. Any outside laborer will not be cheap and not available at all times. All these will effect on the cost of the produce and it will be costly. So this scenario will continue and the prices for food items will be expensive every passing year. The question is how to stop these ever increasing prices for basic food items? Am sure any suggestions on this issue from here on are near impossible. Guys face the music! (Prices will keep on increasing!!! no stopping at all).

John Peter Fernandes, Moodubelle/Nottingham
30/04/2012 09:11:38

Good article well narrated.May be after couple of years me and you will be back to our old working days.God knows!!!!

Vijay dsouza, Moodubelle/Bahrain
30/04/2012 08:47:38

Great and thoughht provoking article Babuti and its right time for all of us to think about it.

Francis L lobo, Belle/ Dubai
30/04/2012 05:02:40

A very well narrated things from our motherland from Mr Baptist..Everybody is leaving the motherland for better life better prospects.But it is really worth is a big question mark?We have to blame our self! One day will come there will be no food available in the market then everybody will go back to the agriculture. That day is not too far.Thanks for the nice article.

neetha rebello, moodubelle/bangalore
30/04/2012 04:51:58

good article.good observation and thought provoking insight.we have sez and other economic reforms coming in... it may also effect on the coastal economic contions. good effort...keep writing

joel dsa, moodubelle, bahrain
30/04/2012 03:43:52

Well written article Baptist, yes we have seen many barren fields around us in Belle, reason being not enough labour to cultivate the farms. The rise in daily labour charges make few of our serious farmers to think seriously about farming their crop. The rise in price for necessities made the life miserable for many. As you have mentioned Government should take major initiative in encouraging the farmers by way of incentives, but as per I know there are many such progrms and grants which are made available to farmers by the State government, but it doesn t reach the deserving farmers as the Babus in our Panchayat make good with all the facilities within themselves. Our local bodies should take interest in educating our farmers their rights and provide knowledge about the facilities given to them by the Govt.
For all of educated children of our farmers, there are not enough opportunities locally to earn their lively hood in their field. So lets hope for the best and put our little efforts to make use of our mother land when we retire or decide to go back to our native, with a serious note I personally feel that The present generation wants to settle away from their mother land.

preema dsouza, Dubai
30/04/2012 03:05:53

Vamanjooreans u will rock

Anil, Dubai
30/04/2012 02:07:58

The line up of artistes for the event is quite promising! With Rony, Preema, Maria, Nellu and organising skills of Vamanjoorians, I m sure this event is going to be a success. Looking forward to the show. All the best Vamanjoorians!

Melwyn D Souza, Dubai
30/04/2012 01:16:23

Wishing all the best to organisers, looking forward for the great show.

Eugene DSouza, Moodubelle
29/04/2012 21:35:17

Good article by Baptist Sequeira. All right thinking people and agencies including the government should seriously ponder over the issues raised by him.

Joseph Vaz, Udupi/Now in Dombivli
29/04/2012 09:00:17

It is very good thing to put the article like such people. Congradulation.

Audrey, US
29/04/2012 08:58:54

This is a great insightful article

29/04/2012 06:32:52

"Nothing succeeds like success". Adv. Clement is a shining example of this dictum. He is sheer hard work, dedication and commitment - all blended into one.Having known him during his formative days as a young lawyer in Bombay,it is the fruits of his labour that he is enjoying now - name, fame, money and respect in society.May he be a source of inspiration to all those who are determined to succeed in life - in any walk of life. Thanks to Dr. Eugene D souza for presenting Adv. Clement Lobo through the columns of Bellevision.com.

Evans Christopher Sumitra, Udupi/New York, USA
28/04/2012 19:27:35

Why Osama Bin Ladin topics still in the news. That cruel, wicked, corrupt, evil person is dead and gone so why he should be anybody ever ever think of him. He enjoyed his life with his wives in a place where he was not supposed to be.

Melwyn D Souza, Dubai
28/04/2012 04:14:56

Congratulation to SMKC Dubai for putting up a great show. All singers sang very well and audience thoroughly enjoyed.Totaly great team efforts.

Philip Mudartha, Qatar
28/04/2012 04:14:50

That SMKC provided clean fun opportunity to UAE residents is evident here. I caught the action sitting at home in Qatar, and was not pleased with buffering issues on my connection. Whenever the streaming worked, I realized it is not exactly like being there as an audience. But that is an usual limitation of podcasting. I also had feeling that Dolla and Leslie are becoming predictably repetitive, though brought some laughs with Bhikari,a new act for me..

Anil, Dubai
28/04/2012 03:40:00

One of the finest konkani shows organized in Dubai. Everything was nice about the show. Wilfy s popular old songs are a treasure and the singing was superb. The sound was too good, The comedians made everyone laugh every single time they came on stage. Leslie held the things together with his humorous style of compering. Meena Rebimbus voice at this age is a treat to the ears. There were many wow moments in the show. Claud s Zuvanna and Babitha s Mhojem kalliz mogar podlam were excellent among all very well sung compositions! Glad to see that Vishwas has matured and taken lead after his father;s demise. Kudos to organizers! It was a fantastic effort!

Boniface DSouza, Mangalore
28/04/2012 03:14:35

Congratulations Adv.Clement Lobo. We are proud of your achievements. Let your hard-work and dedication inspire our younger generation. God bless you and your family: Jacintha Boniface.

sachin shetty, KUNDAPUR
28/04/2012 02:10:12



Valerian Fernandes, Abu Dhabi
28/04/2012 01:12:52

Thanks to BV team for webcasting Konkan showers with good quality of audio and video. Keep up the good work.

Sunshine Pride
Sunshine Pride
Suvad September 2015
Souza Cashews
Power Care
Nissi Infinity
Tourist & visit visas for UAE
Palm Grove Travels & Tourism

Palm Grove Travels

Syndicate Bank
Ryan Internatio​nal

Pheonix Courier & Cargo

Your ad Here
pearl printing
Anil Studio
Bellevision Cute Kid Contest
Udupi Today

Konkani Literature World

Grace Ministries